The Nomadic Life

Well, it’s been real America. It’s also been slightly confusing, yet pleasant. I’m also stuffed. I leave the fatherland a solid 6 pounds heavier than I arrived. And so, not a mere 2 months upon arrival, I depart within the week.

This time my destination is Poland. I travel not to begin volunteer service but rather to pursue love. I go not to a strange mix of west meets east but to a country that feels like a close relative. Things are definitely different this time around.

As I have my final few days here I try to think of things I should be doing to get ready. There just aren’t many tasks. When I wonder why, I realize that it’s because I already have my life all packed up just like a nomad. The time horizon might also have something to do with it. I’m just going for a few months, so no need to overdo the packing.

Going away somewhere so soon is strange. I haven’t fully adjusted to American life again (although the pizza that I destroyed tonight tells a different tale), yet here I am embarking on something else. I’m sure that many people I speak with don’t understand why I am not staying put. The logical side of Kevin knows that finding a nice solid job and getting settled would be the thing to do. But there is more than just career logic at play.

There are also some benefits to going away now. I think some time in Poland will allow me to feel closer to the Armenian style of life in many ways. My integration back into American culture has been choppy, so Poland will be the calamine lotion to my rash. I also am still in the state of mind where my adventure receptors are open for business, awaiting their next stimulating partnership with cultural confusion, language learning, or just figuring out a new city. The more settled down you are, the more energy it takes to pry yourself from the everyday muck to do something out there.

Many have asked what the plan is. There is no real plan. That’s not to say there are no goals, but there aren’t many concrete details about the next few months. I have no job there, no prospects really, and I honestly don’t really care. I spent way too much of the past year worrying about what I would do in Poland, failing to find something, and frustrating myself about it. Besides spending time with Aga, I’ll be starting the job search for an American job. I also want to hit the Polish language hard, which I’ve been self-studying for over a year now. On the side I want to volunteer. It’d be nice to make some money here and there giving private English lessons as well. But that’s not so important to me right now.

Part of me can’t wait to have a job, a home, and a normal life again. And the other part of me is so glad that I’m going to Poland right now without any of those things. And the second part knows that the first part will be satiated soon enough. This should be an interesting time.

3 Responses to “The Nomadic Life”

  1. Nancy Says:

    My Dear Wordsmith, you MUST publish! Kevin, you have an intriguing turn of phrase and a way of drawing your reader into your adventures.

    I couldn’t agree more about, once we’re settled in, it gets more difficult to pry us lose!

    Bon Chance on your quest!

  2. Wayne Burt Says:

    And the second part knows that the first part generally lasts for a very, very long time. The first part is right to say “Screw you second part. There may never be a chance like this for me again.” Now is the most opportune time to lead a nomadic life. Go for it! And say hi to Aga.

  3. icenugget Says:

    @Nancy: I think there are enough Peace Corpish books and blogs out there to fill a library already, but I’ll take the compliment! Thanks. Maybe you’re right – I could use these some day.

    @Wayne: You’re right, thanks for the support. And I know that as soon as I get back into the job world I will be yearning for what I had before…Look, that grass is really green over there!

Leave a Reply

