This is (nearly) the End

One time when I was in grade school we were all running out to the playground. We decided to play kickball. Having one of the strongest legs in the school, I was bursting with excitement. I could picture myself blasting home run after home run to central right field. As we ran down the playground to start the game, I started to feel my legs falling behind my body. Add in the slope of the hill and soon you had young Kevin flying through the air, landing right in the middle of my forehead on the pavement. It must have looked really funny. Well, that’s exactly how I feel at this moment, minus the falling on my head part. It feels like things are going faster than I can keep up with.

There is now just one month of service left. A huge chunk of my comrades will be done on Tuesday. This weekend is the final get together. It’s fitting to be wrapping up now, even if it is weird. The A-20s are already here and getting ready for their site visits. It’s time to hand over the reins to them and the 19s.

Endings are always exciting, bittersweet, and weird. I’m trying to begin processing the 2 year experience I had here. I’m trying to wrap things up. I’m trying to cherish the remainder. And I’m trying to prepare for the future.

It’ll be sad to see my friends for the last time this weekend. This group of people is so strange and diverse, yet it’s also like a family. We’ve all gone through most of the same stuff together. We have something in common that almost no one else will understand. I have to be honest that I’ll miss the gossip, the impressions of other volunteers, the alliances and enemies, and all the other drama that is associated with a Peace Corps social life. Also I’ll just miss the people themselves. Some of them are so unique and once-in-a-lifetime.

Life goes on, of course. Next week Aga and I will be travelling into the south to visit the very famous Tatev monastery. We’re also spending some time in Dilijan. There’s a lot of other stuff I’d like to do before I leave too. So, I’m not yet ready to say goodbye to Armenia. But with each day, I grow more excited for my return to America.

2 Responses to “This is (nearly) the End”

  1. Peter Says:

    As do I!

    I’m lobbying the Frye’s to save the trebuchet/tomahawk throwing/gun shooting weekend for when you’re in Illinois.

  2. icenugget Says:

    Is there a weekend when we do that?!

Leave a Reply

