Failed Stated Index

The other day I read a funny headline on my favorite Armenian news site: Armenia ranks 102nd in Failed States Index, ahead of regional neighbors

That sentence says a lot about the mindset here. “Even if things suck, we are somehow happy if we are better than our neighbors.” Maybe that’s not just an Armenian way of thinking but a human way of thinking.

Anyway, 102nd isn’t great, but it could be much worse. As I browse the list for other Peace Corps countries, I am once again reminded that Armenia is a pretty good draw in the grand scheme of things.

Check out the list for yourself:
Failed State Index

I’m retiring to Scandinavia when it’s all said and done.

4 Responses to “Failed Stated Index”

  1. Wayne Burt Says:

    This was interesting to me. The first PC country on the list appears to be Kenya ranking number 15 and the last might be Panama at 132. I think I’ll keep this list in mind when I have a second tour.

  2. icenugget Says:

    I want to see a Wayne in Panama blog!

    I thought Mauritius might be the highest PC country. After all it seemed a likely PC country (weird name, don’t know where it is on the map, etc.) but alas we were only there from 70-72′. It’s too bad b/c that would be the ultimate post…near Madagascar and English as the official language. Can you imagine?

    Anyway, we should definitely not be in any country ranking higher than the US in this index 😉

  3. Peter Says:

    Warning – semantic dick comments approaching.

    With respect to the FFC (there are so many of these damn NGO’s that I’ve never heard of), I don’t look at “Sustainable” as the superlative in order after “Alert”, “Warning”, and “Stable”.

    And seriously, the US is behind Portugal? The EU has thought about text-message breaking up with them on at least more than one occasion.

    Now that I look at it, the only year that really makes any sense is 2005 when they didn’t even consider first world countries. It seems ridiculous to me to even have them on a scale of “failed states”.

    The US is yellow (stable) instead of green (sustainable), however I would love to see what this map would look like if the cold war ended a little differently. I don’t think Northern Europe would be so green. Rather, they would probably be a part of yellow (or should I say red) Russia.

    Okay, off my soapbox.

  4. icenugget Says:

    The choice of the word sustainable is also a little ironic when you consider that many of the states listed under that title are actually consuming way more of the world’s resources per person than a failed state such as, say, Somalia. Not very sustainable, right?

    Interesting observation about Portugal. Perhaps there was a secret Euro 2012 indicator setup to override a shitty economy.

    We’re getting ready to walk to Ayrk again. Expect an update about that soon.

Leave a Reply

