The Cheapest Year of My Life

The data are in. After one year at site paying my own expenses, it turns out I spent a whopping 1,563,880 dram.

That is about $4,285.

It’s easily the cheapest year of my life. If you factor in a couple vacations I took, it’s still less than $5,000.

Not reflected in the numbers:
Long term health costs from 1 year spent in Armenia

As another PCV here says, “You give them 2 years of your life, they take 10.”

6 Responses to “The Cheapest Year of My Life”

  1. Gail Says:

    Sounds like it’ll be easy to transition back to the US where good jobs are limited, or if you have a job, you’re probably underemployed!

  2. Peter Says:

    Don’t worry dude, we’ll surpass that when you visit here in a couple! Champaign showers!

  3. icenugget Says:

    Mom stop making me so excited to come home!

    And Peter, the last time I truly popped some Champagne was when we won the treble with State.

  4. Peter Says:

    *tears up

  5. icenugget Says:

    Mamoun was really clutch that season if I remember correctly.

    “GET THE BALL!”

  6. Peter Says:

    Haha, I bet he is still at slu wrapping up his masters in public policy. I remember he said he had been there 3 years when we first met him freshman year and sure enough, he was still playing with us when we gradumatated.

    Peter

Leave a Reply

