Peace Corps as a Means to Catch Up on the 90s

It can be a bit lonely out there. You’ve got a lot of time on your hands. You are far from any other Americans. People laugh at you when you walk around outside, so why bother? Fresh air and natural sunlight are for freaks. That’s why I’ve been using my service as a chance to get caught up on a great decade: the 90s.

Yes, I was the guy in college hosting 90s parties instead of the 80s parties everyone else thought were so cool. Was it too soon, in 2006? Probably. But sometimes you need to be bold (those parties were only possible because of an equally bold roomie, Mr. Peter). And I love the 90s. There is a lot of great shit from the 90s that we all took for granted. Compuserve, Beanie Babies, WWF, AOL trial CDs, baby MLS, Ecto Cooler Hi C, mullets, All Sport, and of course Jim Carey. Sadly, I wasn’t able to appreciate all of its greatness as I was a mere 4 years old when that decade started. Cue Peace Corps.

Mosh and Thrash

I am just now getting around to doing a lot of things people did 15 years ago. During the last few months, I have watched for the first time The Matrix and The Green Mile. I brushed the dust off of Half Baked. I am currently having a blast charging my way through Starcraft (currently on the Zerg campaign). I’ve played several complete seasons of Tecmo Super Bowl. I had a fling with Final Fantasy 3. And let’s not forget one of the things that gave me a glimmer of Christmas spirit last winter: Muppet Christmas Carol!

I don’t just limit myself to the 90s, however. I have rocked Band of Brothers, Arrested Development, Curb Your Enthusiasm, The Sims 1, Garden State, Mad Men, and O Brother Where Art Thou.

You see, being behind the curve is not something to be feared. It’s a beautiful, wonderful thing. You can enjoy things at your own pace. Prices plummet. And a bit of time gives you a great idea of what is worth spending your time on and what is just a bleeding edge piece of crap.

I will continue on with this strategy for the rest of my life. Peace Corps is the perfect setup for a return to an unprecedented level of behind-the-curvedness that I crave. Imagine 2 years isolated from all things pop-culture: movies, tv shows, music, video games, sporting events. I will happily go back to playing my video games from 2009, but it will be 2012. I won’t really be able to comprehend the situation. Apologies in advance, as I listen to Sublime…

One Response to “Peace Corps as a Means to Catch Up on the 90s”

  1. Peter Says:

    Haha, those parties were FRESH! Look at that contra-pose! All that’s missing is sleeveless shirts exposing embarrassingly ripped muscles.

    I couldn’t agree with you more. I really got into Blink 182 in college and they definitely peaked back in like 2000. I just did Arrested Development last year. Right now I’m doing Mr. Show from the 90’s, which also has David Cross in it. I have been known to always come back to Warcraft 2 and Heroes of Might and Magic 3 in addition to Sim City. I have the netflix streaming on my xbox 360 and I’m always watching old stuff.

Leave a Reply

