Nomination Imminent

“Collision Imminent” – The frantic words I hated hearing while playing Blast Corps on Nintendo 64 as a kid.

So my 2 week quota has passed. I apologize! I bring many bits of news today.

-Yesterday I worked my first ever 14 hour day. Hopefully I don’t have a lot of those in my future. Thank God for non-exempt status!

-I turned 23 last Tuesday. I also worked late on this day – welcome to adulthood!

-My friend Ben has returned from a year in Bolivia volunteering at an orphanage.

-Jared passed his Marine Corps physical fitness test with flying colors. He ran 3 miles in 19:20!

-I should get nominated for PC next week.

Yesterday I had a phone interview with my Chicago regional recruiter. After verifying a lot of application material, straightening out what exactly my degree is in, and stumbling over a question I sidestepped in the interview (“Tell me about a time when you had a disagreement with someone…..”), she finally got around to the good stuff. She gave me 3 options: Eastern Europe, Eastern/Southern Africa, and Asia. I needed to rank them and get back to her.

My ranking:
1. Eastern Europe – I fear I will never get to Eastern Europe if I don’t volunteer there. I’ve always seen myself there after reading Ian’s PC blog on the PC website. If I could learn Russian, I think that would be a very valuable skill. Not an easy task of course.

2. Africa – I can’t lie…proximity to the 2010 World Cup played a role here. The problem is I would be heading out in May 2010 and the World Cup is that summer. Would I be able to take time off that soon to go?? In my head, Africa would be the ultimate Peace Corps experience, and a great stretch of my comfort zone.

3. Asia – I’m not sure why I ranked it third.

There is a 30% chance I could be accepted into an earlier program if someone drops out. Now to just hear more and pass medical and legal clearnances, plus get invited….

One Response to “Nomination Imminent”

  1. Peter Says:

    Those interview questions can be such bs. One time I actually said that I had two bosses at my last job and did not get along well with one of them and I could tell it rubbed the interviewer the wrong way. God forbid someone actually tells the truth at an interview, let alone I’m sure she never had a supervisor she didn’t mesh with perfectly.

Leave a Reply

