Casting my Line

Hello reader! Looking back, it’s been almost 2 months since I’ve started this thing. That really is incredible to me. Just another great example of how quickly life can pass us by! And because of that, also a great example of why I need to join the Peace Corps to go somewhere new, do something different, and make an impact.


So, what’s been happening lately? Well, last week I traveled to Oklahoma City for work. It was a short two day stint. It was also my first work-related travel. I have to say, I enjoyed eating out with my per diem! But the god of my bowels was unappreciative of the 5 or so straight meals of eating out. You see, my body has adjusted to an outrageous diet rich in pasta. I eat pasta at least 4 nights a week. And I eat large amounts of the pasta. So, anything non-pasta related, in succession (such as Rudy’s – the gas station BBQ place we ate at both nights), can wreak havoc.


Oh, right. This blog is supposed to be Peace Corps stuff. I read a great blog last night that had a cool timeline of PC application stuff. So, let me capture a few dates. On Feb. 23, my final reference was submitted. That afternoon, I received an e-mail from a Chicago recruitment officer. I believe this e-mail was in response to me submitting my initial application materials back on Feb. 10, not the submission of the last reference letter. The e-mail told me to expect a packet soon, and to check with my lenders about deferring student loans (although I already sent in a sheet about this issue…).


Then, I received said packet on Friday, Feb. 27. I am in the process of gathering fingerprints and transcripts. I already filled out the included skills addenda for some possible service areas, including Business Advising and Info. & Comm. Tech. The e-mail said the packet needed to be returned by March 20 to keep me “as competitive as possible for the next round of selections.” Yes ma’am!


In other news, I can’t help but constantly think about PC. I wonder what it will be like. I wonder if I will really be able to handle it (pretty sure, and if not, you can always cry, right?). Right now, my 3 biggest concerns:


1. Adapting to a foreign culture for 2 years

2. Lacking the people and amenities of my own culture

3. The Language


Of course, these are also kind of some of the biggest reasons I want to go. No, I don’t want to get away from the people I am close to. But I do want to see if I can challenge myself and grow without them in close proximity.


More to come…cheers!

Leave a Reply

